High Dynamic Range

PicturesofthelowcountryPicturesofthelowcountry Registered Users Posts: 90 Big grins
edited September 8, 2009 in Technique
640173933_5w8Xv-X3.jpg
Pictures of the Lowcountry By Michael Lamarre
www.Picturesofthelowcountry.smugmug.com
Thanks and have a Great day

Comments

• PicturesofthelowcountryPicturesofthelowcountry Registered Users Posts: 90 Big grins
    edited September 8, 2009
    I would like to talk about this subject with others; I am new to HDR and would like to get some tips from someone that has a little more experience.

Thanks MIke
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited September 8, 2009
    HDR can be quite fun and visually entertaining.thumb.gif

Unless you can convince me that there are three different images in your recent posts, I am going to temporarily delete the first two threads. One post of this image requesting discussion seems sufficient.

I use Photomatix Pro and CS4. I create my HDR files in CS4 and then drop them into Photomatix for Tone Mapping. I tend to prefer images that are hard to be certain were shot as HDR images, rather than the haloed variety that seems popular on the Web.

I like your image, with the lovely detail in the grass. I find the grass far more interesting than the sky. I think I might crop most of the sky in the first grey, just above the pink light in the sky. I don't find the grey tones that compelling in the sky. Maybe they need more contrast in the top of the sky. I don't like the way the horizon bisects your image. Less sky and more grass and water might work better for me.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • dlplumerdlplumer Registered Users Posts: 8,081 Major grins
    edited September 8, 2009
    OK, tell us what software you used, how many images you merged and the EXIF data etc.