White balance help

ClixphotoClixphoto Registered Users Posts: 228 Major grins
edited September 17, 2009 in People
Here are two images from a session today. This is my first session shooting all RAW images so I'm fairly new to adjusting white balance in PP. After first viewing the images I felt they needed warming just a touch but then my eyes tell me they're too yellow. Can someone give me some advice or just tell me which image is better?

This is just the test shot to check lighting and I understand the boys aren't smiling. It was just the first off the camera so I started working with it. There are much better images I promise.

1. This is the RAW image with no adjustments.

648661681_vZetx-M.jpg

2. This is after my white balance adjustment.

648665097_RrwDQ-M.jpg

Thanks for looking.

Wes
Clix Photography
www.clix-photo.com

Comments

• sweet carolinesweet caroline Registered Users Posts: 1,589 Major grins
    edited September 13, 2009
    The second image looks too warm to me.

Caroline
  • happysmileyladyhappysmileylady Registered Users Posts: 195 Major grins
    JMHO....I am far from totally knowledgible in this area

I think in the first image, the skintones look ok, perhaps just a smidge cool, but not too bad. It's the bricks that look somewhat dull.

Then in the second image, the skintones and cement look a little warm, but the bricks look nice.

I think, for me at least, the bricks throw it off. What happens if you brighten/warm the bricks in the background, without doing anything to the rest of it?
  • ClixphotoClixphoto Registered Users Posts: 228 Major grins
    The second image looks too warm to me.

Caroline

Thanks momma bear. Does the first appear to cool or just right?

I hope that didn't sound to smart a--. I just couldn't resist. Thanks for your insight.
    What happens if you brighten/warm the bricks in the background, without doing anything to the rest of it?