Options

Conflict of Interests With Photos Taken On-the-Job

coldclimbcoldclimb Registered Users Posts: 1,169 Major grins
edited September 22, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hey all, I'm going to be doing some diggin on this subject, but I figured I'd post up as well and get all the feedback I can.

I am a firefighter/EMT and I take photos on emergency scenes that nobody else gets the chance to take. Everybody loves the photos of course and wants me to continue taking them, but I've run into troubles with being able to publish them because I'm on the clock with the fire department when I'm taking them, and I'm wondering if anyone out there has solved an issue like this and can offer me advice or a direction to go.

Details:
A few weeks ago I put together a calendar of fire photos and presented it to the Chief with the idea that I'd get them printed through Costco and sell them to the other firefighters. He took the idea to the legal department, and they told him it would be a conflict of interests for me to be taking photos while on duty and then selling them for profit.

Now obviously I want to continue taking photos, since I'm in a position many times to shoot what nobody else gets to shoot. I also want to be able to DO things with the photos both to benefit me and my fellow responders, so is there something I can propose that will resolve this issue sufficiently for the legal department here to be happy? I'm thinking a release that allows me to retain ownership while also letting the borough (which oversees the Fire Department) get whatever they'd like from the photos, but that would only address ownership, and I'd like to cover this "conflict of interests" issue sufficiently to appease the legal guys.

I have little experience with the legal side of photo business, so any help is greatly appreciated, and I'll be digging around myself as well. Thanks! :D
John Borland
www.morffed.com

Comments

• Options
    promoguypromoguy Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins