Where to start?

qxzloolqxzlool Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited September 19, 2009 in Cameras
I just got a Nikon D3000 for my birthday:clap -my first SLR (sort of). I've been puttering around for several years, but would like to get more serious about photography now that I have this great tool.

I've thought about trying a class at a local community college, and I know Nikon has their own school of some sort. Any other suggestions? (this place isn't like JM is it? 'Cause that's not the kind of suggestion I was after...:rofl )

Thanks!

Comments

• craig_dcraig_d Registered Users Posts: 911 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2009
    I recommend good lenses, lots of practice at taking and processing images, and book study, both practical/instructional and the history of photography from Talbot and Daguerre up to the present. There are also lots of good tutorials online addressing basic theoretical and practical issues.

Classes can be good or not, depending on the instructor. At the very least a halfway-competent instructor should be able to help you to develop basic familiarity with your tools.
    http://craigd.smugmug.com

Got bored with digital and went back to film.
  • PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    I recommend you go out and shoot. Take images of things that interest you and play with different settings to get an understanding of the effect they have on what's captured.

Then come back to your computer and choose your three best. Work with them in Lightroom or Picasa or whatever you intend to use for post-processing. Make them as good as you can.

Then go post them in the forum, explain that you're just learning and wanting to get better, and ask for advice. You'll get feedback on composition (how did you frame the shot), exposure (light levels), and other important factors.