Options

PSP CS3 debate

fredjclausfredjclaus Registered Users Posts: 759 Major grins
edited October 2, 2009 in Finishing School
I have been using PSP for a little while because it was given to me. Tonight I attended a camera club meeting and I got into a conversation with a man who teaches Photoshop. While I didn't get much time with him, he has convinced me to upgrade to photoshop CS3 if I can find an old copy of it. Luckily I have not purchased any books on teaching PSP. Here's the thing though.

Photoshop being 700.00 it's a bit out of my price range unless I can find a good deal on it someplace.

1. If I picked up some old CS3 instruction books would they give me basic techniques I can still use in PSP till I can upgrade?

2. Does CS3 have a "Learning Center" like PSP has where the most used options can be displayed down the left side with tips and tricks also visable?

I'm totally new to this sort of editing software but it's highly recommended that I upgrade my software.

What are your thoughts?
Fred J Claus
Commercial Photographer
http://www.FredJClaus.com
http://www.Fredjclaus.com/originals

Save on your own SmugMug account. Just enter Coupon code i2J0HIOcEElwI at checkout

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,891 moderator
    edited September 23, 2009
    I jumped to CS4 from CS2 and I do believe that the localized/regionalized controls offered in CS4 are worth the price of admission. The latest ACR is also only available on CS4.

Acquiring an older version of Photoshop and then upgrading is often the best and least expensive method, but I'm not sure of a good source for older versions anymore. Used versions may not transfer so a "new" older version and then upgrade to CS4 is probably best.

Another very good method is to go back to school, seriously. If you are a student you can legitimately purchase academic versions at fractional prices.