Troublesome pix in the setting sun

adbsgicomadbsgicom Registered Users Posts: 3,615 Major grins
edited October 8, 2009 in Technique
Ignore the forced smiles and some of the softness, what I'm trying to figure out is how one best uses that 'magical light' around sunset that just seems to give me fits. My daughter is a huge squinter, so perhaps that eliminates a whole raft of potential shots for her since once the sun gets to 90-degrees to her face the eyes go shut. These were taken before I started learning here, but are illustrative of general issues I seem to have near the golden hour. I've been following couple of posts in the People forum about balancing the flash color, but this is more about angles (or at least so it seems).

Using the sun as a hair light seems to work okay. No flash in this shot, just had to bring up the exposure a tiny bit, and push the WB a bunch to the yellow/magenta since her face started off very blue.

658183787_LNCtV-M.jpg

This is SOOC: So the blue is because her face is effectively in the shade. What is considered the right thing to do here for processing? Is this a shade shot so the WB should move way over to the orange side and then her hair becomes much more firey? The second shot seems too warm (5700K/+5) but bumping it down seems almost like a knife's edge to it feeling blue. I think it is how her hair influences the perception of her face. Does one have to get creative with how the color balance is applied across the image here?

658183708_TJAWT-M.jpg658810256_nWoha-M.jpg

This is SOOC. I now her pose is all wrong (too squared). The shadows stink and the shadow line is really hard. If she turned any more into the sun, she would have had little slits for eyes. Is this where you fill flash with a gel'ed flash to try to cover the shadows on both halves of her face, or do you try to time opening her eyes and clicking the shutter? This seems to be in the area of where that wonderful light would be at its best use.