Options

How many weddings do you do in a year?

Erica628Erica628 Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited October 21, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
I am just starting out. My primary focus is weddings, with family portraits (particularly) children. I am working up a "5 year plan" budgeting my time, money, education, equipment etc.

I know this is a REALLY loaded question and will vary greatly based on so many factors, but I'm curious about how many weddings I could expect to book in a year? i.e. assuming that, 3 years from now, I am willing to work 30 weddings per year, I have a great portfolio, all the right equipment, a "fair market" price point, a good marketing plan. Do I have a chance of booking that many? (I live in Indianapolis)

Can you tell me:

How much experience you have?
What kind of area do you live in? (suburban, rural, metropolitan)
What is your marketing budget per month?
What is your mid point wedding package price?
How many weddings would you be willing to do per year?
How many do you actually do?
Any other factors (besides those I've already listed) you think I should consider?

Comments

• Options
    SnowgirlSnowgirl Registered Users Posts: 2,155 Major grins
    edited September 27, 2009
    Brilliant that you're taking the time to make a plan. Most don't and then wonder why they fail or work for pennies an hour.

There's an excellent book called "Best Business Practices for Photographers" by John Harrington (available in most larger bookstores) that walks you through the whole process and helps you figure out your cost of doing business and hence your rates for different types of photography. It's a must read for anyone starting out.

Good luck with it all. I'm sure you'll do well!clap.gif
    Creating visual and verbal images that resonate with you.
    http://www.imagesbyceci.com
    http://www.facebook.com/ImagesByCeci
    Picadilly, NB, Canada
  • Options
    bendruckerphotobendruckerphoto Registered Users Posts: 579 Major grins