Tripod Recommendations

gooseattackgooseattack Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
edited July 12, 2005 in Cameras
I am an amateur "photographer-wanna-be" (planning to take classes) and bout to purchase a Canon 20D. Does anyone have any recommendations for a good tripod that you are satisfied with?

Comments

• ChaseChase Registered Users Posts: 284 Major grins
    edited July 5, 2005
    I am an amateur "photographer-wanna-be" (planning to take classes) and bout to purchase a Canon 20D. Does anyone have any recommendations for a good tripod that you are satisfied with?
    I bought a Slik able 300 dx with a pan tilt head for about 90 dollars. The head aint so great, and it isnt very small or light, but it is very damn sturdy. thumb.gif
    www.chase.smugmug.com
    I just press the button and the camera goes CLICK. :dunno
    Canon: gripped 20d and 30d, 10-22 3.5-4.5, 17-55 IS, 50mm f1.8, 70-200L IS, 85mm f1.8, 420ex
    sigma: 10-20 4-5.6 (for sale), 24-70 2.8 (for sale), 120-300 2.8
  • ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,934 moderator
    edited July 5, 2005
    Take a look through the Accessories Review sticky.

I would suggest buying a tripod that is heavy enough to hold the camera and what
    ever accessories you want to put on the camera. This could be something like a
    Slik or Bogen. If you feel you need a heavy tripod, the Gitzo is also a nice (but
    expensive choice).

What ever you do, find one that meets or exceeds your requirements and will be one
    you'll use as opposed to leave home when you might otherwise need it :)

Let us know what you decide!

Ian
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited July 5, 2005
    As always, good advice from Ian.