how to improve this, before post-processing

ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
edited October 3, 2009 in People
I like people. No, I love people. Especially looking at people. I can sit outside for hours looking at people (interestingly enough I don't like being in groups of people but that's not really relevant here :lol3).
So, one of my favorite things to photograph is, you guessed it, people.

I'm not a pro, but lately I have been thinking about doing a little shooting on the side; I am in the fortunate position that a lot of weeks I work less than 40 hours a week effectively for my full-time job, so that gives me a bit of time to play around. However, as many others, I need to get my confidence level up a bit first. I've been reading books, taking classes and been out practicing.
Something that I noticed is that the shots that I have properly thought about before I took them turn out a lot better as opposed to the ones I didn't think about enough, and that I'm more and more a believer of the "crap in - crap out" principal. If the shot is crap to begin with, no post-processing is going to make it better, at least not to the point that it is a great shot.

So, after all this irrelevant rambling, here is my question; What should I have done at the shoot to make this shot better? This shot is straight out of my camera, a direct conversion from RAW to JPG, no changes.
666740585_NFHyb-XL.jpg
The details: Canon 5d mark II, 85mm 1.8 at f/3.2, 1/160th, iso 100
The main light (sun with overcast clouds) pretty much behind me, a little flash, off-camera, on the left of me.

I'm not interested in the post-processing of this one really but what should I have done to make it better when I took it? settings, lights, angles, etc. Please let me know and don't be shy. I promise you won't make me cry :D

:ear

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2009