Options

Importance of keeping LR projects around?

bike21bike21 Registered Users Posts: 836 Major grins
edited October 9, 2009 in Finishing School
Howdy!

So I am relatively new to LR2 and have read about how the LR2 catalog files and backup files can grow quite large if not kept in check. My question is, would it be wise to remove the projects after I am done with them (exported) from the LR2 catalog?

How big can the files get? I have a MB Pro with 250GB HD so I am not sure how much of an issue this will be. I am in the process of creating a new backup/file management scheme to get unused files off of my HD so it is basically a workspace and not a storage area. This is to keep lots of room available for virtual memory that the Mac uses or so I have read. I might be interested in a larger HD down the road if that helps, but really have no clue how big the LR2 catalog can get.

Any tips? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited October 7, 2009
    bike21 wrote:
    So I am relatively new to LR2 and have read about how the LR2 catalog files and backup files can grow quite large if not kept in check. My question is, would it be wise to remove the projects after I am done with them (exported) from the LR2 catalog?