7D - D300 side by side

beetle8beetle8 Registered Users Posts: 677 Major grins
edited October 9, 2009 in Cameras
I'm not an engineer, I have both cameras and thought this would be helpful for some people, I did my best to make this an accurate comparison.

For what it's worth, although I obviously just got the Canon and have some comfort level things that will take time. Here is my opinion on the two.

The focusing is still better on the Nikon at least in low light which is where I do most of my shooting. The focussing on the Canon is really good though. In my opinion the IQ is comparable, I think had Canon gone with a lower MP the IQ would've improved. But what do I know. I bought the Canon strictly for video, I'll continue to try it out here and there for stills, and who know once I get comfortable with it I might change my mind.

Here's the process,

Put the subject on black BG to help illustrate the noise at high iso.
Set up tripod and locked everything down.
Light is from glass slider behind camera (cloudy day) and a 5bulb chandelier above subject.
Canon is equipped with 50 f1.4 and Nikon has a 50 f1.8
Both cameras shot the subject at f2, both cameras were set to capture raw, all in camera processing was either off of set to standard. Spot metering was used on both cameras and I manually focussed both camera to the same spot the absolute best I could.
I mounted the 7D on the tripod and shot a test shot, with exposure zeroed the preview looked to light so I tried 1/3 under and went with that on all remaining shots.
I mounted the D300 to the tripod and set the exposure to 1/3 stop under, the previe looked too light so I adjusted to 2/3 under and went with that for the rest of the shots.
The shutter speeds ended up being the same for both on all exposures and are as follows; 1/13,1/25, 1/50, 1/100, 1/125, 1/160, 1/200
Both cameras were set on 2second shutter delay.