Regarding High Speed Synch - Lens Question

SLRdudeSLRdude Registered Users Posts: 166 Major grins
edited October 22, 2009 in Technique
I'm still new to all this stuff, and I am VERY new to the world of somewhat fast lenses.

If you are shooting outside and you shoot wide open to get that nice bokeh, how the heck do you use the flash??
Every time I try with the flash on, it says HI and the images are severely over exposed. I tried negative EV compensation etc, you name it.

What's the secret in using fill flash while wide open?

Thanks a million guys!
Chip

ad astra per aspera

Comments

• jforbesjforbes Registered Users Posts: 49 Big grins
    edited October 14, 2009
    SLRdude wrote:
    I'm still new to all this stuff, and I am VERY new to the world of somewhat fast lenses.

If you are shooting outside and you shoot wide open to get that nice bokeh, how the heck do you use the flash??
    Every time I try with the flash on, it says HI and the images are severely over exposed. I tried negative EV compensation etc, you name it.

What's the secret in using fill flash while wide open?

Thanks a million guys!

I'm far from a flash guru, but here's what I'd start with:

Set high speed sync on the flash! If you don't have it set, you're limiting yourself to 1/160, 1/250 or so on shutter speed. This could be causing the overexposure. On Canon, you can't even set the shutter speed over that level - so if you're shooting with a flash at large aperture, it's actually very, very easy to overexpose the image, as the camera will refuse to go to a higher shutter speed. This is probably the case with most of the other manufacturers too.