Shooting furniture

WoodworkWoodwork Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited October 29, 2009 in Technique
Hello - I am trying to take better shots of furniture to display on our custom furniture web site. Since we focus on natural grain finish instead of paint, it is important to show the details in the wood. I don't have a lot of fancy accessories for my camera (I am brand new to the world outside of point and shoot!), and know that lighting is really important, but I am having trouble with the following:
1) clarity (everything tends to look fuzzy since the pieces are larger scale)
2) glare on the furniture (I've tried backlighting, side lighting...beginner lighting kit)
3) detail on the wood grain
Any tips on lens types, focusing, lighting? Sorry for the broad question, I am just trying to make sure my partner's work is shown for the masterpieces they are!

Comments

• pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited October 14, 2009
    Light tent perhaps?

A light tent will create soft, diffuse, wrap around light that will help keep the lighting contrast ratios within bounds. Small light tents are often used for glass, watches or jewelry. Large light tents are used for cars.

They do not have to be expensive - some supports and some white scrim of cotton sheeting or nylon scrim will work. Try googling "light tents" and all sorts of ideas will pop up. I mad mine out of poly water piping and an old white sheet.

I used it for the lighting in this photo

53793112_cs2Tq-M.jpg
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Miguel DelinquentoMiguel Delinquento Registered Users Posts: 904 Major grins
    edited October 14, 2009
    Hire a photographer
    Since furniture making, rather than photography, is the prime focus of your business, I would recommend you hire a local photographer to produce the marketing shots.