Canon 7D and EF-S 17-55mm

THX1965THX1965 Registered Users Posts: 108 Major grins
edited October 17, 2009 in Cameras
Hi, I am new to DGrin. Terrific site! Great community!

This may be a silly question, but will the Canon EF-S 17-55mm lens work on the new Canon 7D? The 7D is not listed as compatible on the Canon website. But since this lens was designed for DSLR's with a 1.6 crop factor, I can't see why it shouldn't work.

Thanks for sharing your insight.

--- Markus ---

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited October 15, 2009
    THX1965 wrote:
    Hi, I am new to DGrin. Terrific site! Great community!

This may be a silly question, but will the Canon EF-S 17-55mm lens work on the new Canon 7D? The 7D is not listed as compatible on the Canon website. But since this lens was designed for DSLR's with a 1.6 crop factor, I can't see why it shouldn't work.

Thanks for sharing your insight.

--- Markus ---

THX1965 (Markus), welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

The Canon EF-S 17-55mm, f2.8 USM should be a great standard zoom lens mounted on the Canon 7D. No worries.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • THX1965THX1965 Registered Users Posts: 108 Major grins
    edited October 15, 2009
    ziggy53 wrote:

The Canon EF-S 17-55mm, f2.8 USM should be a great standard zoom lens mounted on the Canon 7D. No worries.

I am happy to hear that. Thanks a lot.
  • insanefredinsanefred Registered Users Posts: 604 Major grins
    edited October 15, 2009
    Yup should work just fine.

It might have some CA, purple fringing and seem soft wide open. But that is expected with a camera with higher MP
  • Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited October 15, 2009
    I borrowed the 17 - 55 f2.8 from Loper during the shootout - it was fine on the 7D.

ann
  • THX1965THX1965 Registered Users Posts: 108 Major grins
    edited October 16, 2009
    insanefred wrote: