European Lab Request and a Printing Test

JanWillJanWill Registered Users Posts: 27 Big grins
edited October 17, 2009 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
I am a professional photographer based in Germany.
First let me tell you how awesome Smugmug is. The customization is great as well as the support and I am very happy with SM - except with one thing:

Printing

My customers would never order through my galleries, because of $ (currency) and shipping.
There is also a third reason why I won't recommend my customers to buy through my galleries:

Print quality

I did a print comparision and ordered prints through smugmug, but also through 2 professional labs and through one lab of a big supermarket chain.
The result was really surprising and disappointing at the same time. The prints with Smugmug turned out kind of ok and just seeing them I would not complain, but if I compare them to the other prints form the other three labs including the supermarket lab smugmug is no real competition, the other prints are really much better than smugmug's.

Furthermore they are far cheaper, which is not that big a deal, but the quality for the price is not there.

And lastly all three labs here in Germany INCLUDING the lab of the supermarket printed on professional paper. The paper from the supermarket for a "Glossy" print is Kodak Professional Endura paper, while the Smugmug paper for "Glossy" is the standard Kodak paper. So I pay almost 5x as much for Smugmug printing (without shipping) and do not even get the professional paper.

So what I really really see as one important feature is the option to print though an European lab. If that would be possible that would be great. There are so many German photographers who want an easy solution to offer prints via an online gallery. Smugmug has everything they need except the European currency thing and the possibility to offer prints through an European lab.