Options

Post Processing With Aperture

Chris-JordanChris-Jordan Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited October 19, 2009 in Finishing School
Hello. I have been working with Aperture 2 for about 2 months now and I am struggling with my post processing work. My images look flat and seem unclear. I was hoping a more experienced user might provide me with some guidance on how to improve my images.

I have a Canon XSi camera with the 18-55mm kit lens with IS. The following image was shot at ISO 200 f/11 1/40 on a cloudy day. The steps I take for post processing include checking the exposure level, then white balance, then hot-cold spots, and finally boosting the saturation and vibrancy.

The image below is processed this way. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated since I've been struggling with post processing for awhile now. I don't seem to be getting the hang of it or else my pictures are just really bad.

Thank you for your help!

Example2.jpg

Comments

• Options
    dlplumerdlplumer Registered Users Posts: 8,081 Major grins
    edited October 16, 2009
    Are you shooting in raw?

Assuming you are, here are some thoughts:

1. Adjust exposure

2. Adjust levels

3. Adjust highlights and shadows

4. Adjust mid-contrast to give it more or less pop (you must do 3 for this to work)

an alternative is to simply click auto exposure, auto levels, but you must be using RAW for this to be active.
  • Options
    edited October 16, 2009
    dlplumer wrote:
    Are you shooting in raw?

Assuming you are, here are some thoughts:

1. Adjust exposure

2. Adjust levels

3. Adjust highlights and shadows

4. Adjust mid-contrast to give it more or less pop (you must do 3 for this to work)

an alternative is to simply click auto exposure, auto levels, but you must be using RAW for this to be active.