Options

Lens construction

cab.in.bostoncab.in.boston Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
edited October 20, 2009 in Cameras
I don't know where to put this, so please move the thread if another forum is more appropriate.

This has probably been discussed before, but I'm still new to this stuff, so please forgive me if it's a dead horse. I'm very curious about the engineering and optics behind photography. I'm an EE and I understand the basics of how the body works and records images, etc, but the lenses... not so much. Does anyone have a good tutorial about how a modern lens is physically built?

I understand the basic concepts of focal lengths, apertures, etc, but am just curious how a few things really work. Like, where is the aperture, physically? I don't understand how a highly focused beam of light (say, f/22) and a much more spread out beam (f/1.8 or larger) could cover the same area of the sensor. It seems like the f/22 light would only illuminate a bright spot in the center of the sensor, since the physical distance between aperture blades and sensor remains fixed.

Regarding variable vs. constant apertures... say you have (for ease of numbers) a 25-50mm f/2 zoom. At each FL, you have a max aperture of FL/2. Doesn't that mean that the aperture is physically capable of being 25mm in diameter? And if so, why would it not be advantageous to use the same larger aperture at 25mm, resulting in a 25-50 f/1-2? You wouldn't lose anything at the tele end, but gain two stops at the wide, so why not do this? Or in a constant aperture zoom, is the physical size of the aperture the same throughout the range, and only the "equivalent" FL changes? For variable aperture zooms, does the physical size of the opening actually change, or do they design it such that the same size aperture is f/3.5 at the wide end and f/5.6 at the tele?