Options

Windows 7

Photog4ChristPhotog4Christ Registered Users Posts: 716 Major grins
edited October 22, 2009 in Digital Darkroom
Okay... time for the hot topic. With Windows 7 release just 3 days away, I'm tempted to pick it up.

I am running XP Pro on my Desktop and XP Home on my laptop. My wife has Vista (she has a new PC, but doesn't qualify for a free upgrade to "7").

I am happy with XP, but it is an old OS. I am considering purchasing "7" mainly because I am an IT Professional. I have my MCP and my MCDST certifications. Since "7" is the 2nd OS to come out since I received my MCP/MCDST training (Vista wasn't out yet), then technically speaking my certifications are out-of-date. I want to be up on the latest because employers are going to want someone that is familiar with "7". I can't see a job interview going very well if I said that I've never touched a machine with Vista/7 installed on it.

On the other hand, my current employer uses XP Pro on every piece of equipment (desktop/laptop) and I don't think they're going to be so fast to change.

Also, how well does Photoshop/LR and all the other tools we use as photographers work with "7"? I've heard horror stories about PS and LR on Vista. I don't want to be an early adopter and find out that "7" has issues too.

I realize that "7" requires a clean install to upgrade from XP. I'm attracted to that even though it means reinstalling all my apps!

Also, which version? I really don't anticipate joining a domain, so will "Home Premium" work for me?

Thank you :)

Comments

• Options
    DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited October 19, 2009
    I can't answer all of your questions but I can tell you that I have been running PS and LR on Vista for a long time with zero issues. I actually have not had any issues with Vista - I guess I'm in the minority or something.