Options

Appropriate fee for product photography services??

tekkiegrrltekkiegrrl Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited October 26, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello all,

I am just getting started doing professional work and need your opinion. I have an opportunity to do some product shots for a health and beauty website. I need to provide 3-5 shots of 15-20 different products. I quoted the owner a price of $20 a product. She indicated she believed the price to be too high because some of her products only cost $9. Also, she is not paying me cash, but instead we are bartering - she will give me photo credit on her website, and an amount of her product that is equivalent to the price we quote her. I felt $20 per product was reasonable despite the products cost, because it's not any less effort for me to photograph the object, and she is paying for the service. Also, I am sure she has other items that cost more than $20. Am I being unreasonable, or should I be charging by the hour? Or is it simply enough that she will give me photo credit on her site? Any and all feedback is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited October 21, 2009
    ask her if it alright if you use a $9.00 disposable digital camera for her commerical product shots???

I am not kidding.

Actually you are under pricing yourself to get 3-5 really good shots is going to take some time and then you have to process the shots and then deliver back to her........give her an hourly fee of $50-75 per hour and explain you'll probably only get 1 or 2 products per hour due to each product takes its own set up, lighting etc etc etc......unless you want to do one set up and do a conveyor type shoot with no creativity involved...........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website