nightclub photography

kevinpwkevinpw Registered Users Posts: 124 Major grins
edited October 26, 2009 in Technique
Hi,

I have been given the chance to do a shoot at a nightclub. I'm wondering if you guys have any tips and tricks?

my gear:
Nikon D5000
Nikon 18-200 f/3.5
SB900 Flash
Gary Fong Diffuser

I've been doing mostly outdoor shoots, so I'm not too experienced with indoor photography, especially somewhere as dark and crowded as a nightclub.

Appreciate all of your comments. Thanks!

Comments

• RBrogenRBrogen Registered Users Posts: 1,518 Major grins
    edited October 23, 2009
    Hi Kevin,

I've done several shoots in some challenging lighting conditions like our local New England Aquarium. Here's a few things that might be useful:

1) Scout the location: go to the venue at the same time and under as close of the conditions as there will be on the day of your shoot. Look around for areas that present the best lighting and angle opportunities.

2) Take some test shots to see what settings are going to be required with your particular gear to achieve an acceptable result

3) Shoot in RAW to allow for the most flexibility for PP letting you adjust some times up to 2 stops.

4) If you can use flash, look for opportunities to bounce off of the ceiling. If that doesn't exist, switch to manual mode on your SB900 and tinker with the power while test shooting to see what the best setting is to get light where you need it without getting that "flash" look.

5) Use fast glass... f/2.8 works great but be aware that you have to know the DOF limitations in order to ensure you get what you want in focus.

6) Know your equipment and how to make adjustments to the 3 axis of lighting control (shutterspeed, f/stop and ISO) without looking. This will be a huge help in getting the shot or multple version of a shot to increase the likelyhood of one being acceptable.

7) HAVE FUN!

Hope this helps.
    Randy Brogen, CPP
    www.brogen.com

Member: PPA , PPANE, PPAM & NAPP