UnderWater Camera

catherina1105catherina1105 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited November 6, 2009 in Cameras
Hello everyone. I am very excited for the holiday vacation because I will be having my first scuba diving with my friends. I plan to go to a magasin materiel (equipment store) to look for Unterwasserkameras (under water cameras). What brand should I choose? Do you have any suggestion guys?

Comments

• sfausfau Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
    edited October 26, 2009
    There are two ways of getting an underwater camera
    1) Buy a purpose built underwater camera and housing (expensive)
    2) Buy a underwater housing for an existing compact camera (less expensive)
    As this is your 1<SUP>st</SUP> time scuba diving the cheaper option is the second one. Most underwater housings for compact cameras are usually rated to 30m whereas the purpose built models tend to be rated to around 60m. As you are a complete beginner you will not be going deeper than 18m anyway.
    A couple of good websites:
    http://www.seaandsea.com/
    http://www.camerasunderwater.co.uk/store/
    <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
    Mind you the easiest thing to do would be to hire one from the local dive centre!
    <o:p></o:p>
    “Wandering re-establishes the original harmony which once existed between man and the universe”……Anatole France

www.sfauphotographs.com
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited October 26, 2009
    Hello everyone. I am very excited for the holiday vacation because I will be having my first scuba diving with my friends. I plan to go to a magasin materiel (equipment store) to look for Unterwasserkameras (under water cameras). What brand should I choose? Do you have any suggestion guys?

Catherina1105, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif