Lens evaluation

cab.in.bostoncab.in.boston Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
edited October 26, 2009 in Cameras
I just received a couple of new toys, a Tamron SP AF17-50 f/2.8 XR (non-stabilized version) and a SB600 flash. :barb I'm very excited about my new stuff and can't wait to learn how to use the flash and exploit the wider lens (my previous widest lens was the 35 f/1.8 prime).

I've heard much reported about sample variation in 3rd party lenses, so I want to make sure I really put this lens through its paces quickly so I can exchange it if need be. Problem is, I've never done this before, so I'm looking for some tips of what to do and how to evaluate the results. So far I've mounted it on a tripod and shot a series of photos of some framed Beatles LPs I have on the wall. I shot at 17, 24, 35, and 50mm, at every stop from 2.8 to 32. I used center point AF, matrix metering, and a remote shutter release. No flash, just ambient light. I do not have a high quality printer, so I'm printing out some test charts, but I don't know how well that will work out.

Other than simply looking at the photos I took and using my (untrained) eye, what else should I do to really shake this down before deciding it's worth keeping?

Thanks for helping out a newbie!
Father, husband, dog lover, engineer, Nikon shooter
My site 365 Project

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited October 26, 2009
    I just received a couple of new toys, a Tamron SP AF17-50 f/2.8 XR (non-stabilized version) and a SB600 flash. wings.gif I'm very excited about my new stuff and can't wait to learn how to use the flash and exploit the wider lens (my previous widest lens was the 35 f/1.8 prime).