New to Photography and Macro

tripwatertripwater Registered Users Posts: 43 Big grins
edited October 30, 2009 in Holy Macro
Hello,

For the past few months and I have been reading every book I can. I am the type of person that does a ton of research before I dive into something. I am a musician at heart. I love photography and always have. I was drawn to macro photography just by its unique nature and beauty. It reveals things that we over look everyday and many things that we can't see in detail with our eyes.

So I finally got some gear a few weeks back and have been taking shots when I can. Please visit my close up galleries and give any C&C as they are welcome! Many shots I took early on I realized I had my aperture too wide and now I am trying to pay more attention to it.

I would like to say to you hardcore macro guys that I approach this as 'Close up' photography with some macro. I realize in advance that many of my pics are not true macro or even closer. While a few are true macro :P

I thought about posting individual pics but I figured it would be best to just post a link to the category

Thank you for taking the time

http://timkelley.smugmug.com/Close-Up

Comments

• GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderators Posts: 4,747 moderator
    edited October 28, 2009
    welcome Tim, you have made a good start. light and composition quite good of quite a few shots.
    the subject if too central of some, try to leave room infront of the bugs in the direction they are facing.
    fry using f8- f14 as a good guide.
    do please post some pics here as its easier for everyone to view and comment on individual pictures
    phil
  • Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited October 29, 2009
    Very good start - some lovely shots there. Agree with Phil on composition aspects. Macro shooting does take a lot of practice and when you are confident on actually getting a good shot then the compositional aspects tend to get easier.