Jennifer

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited November 1, 2009 in People
Another practice session with the wife. We went for very late lunch in Glendale and I had my camera so I convinced my wife to let me take some portraits of her at Brand Park.

Here are a few of my favorites. Would love to hear some feedback on them since I am trying to learn how to shoot people. I really struggled with the poses. Not sure how I did as I am a total noob when it comes to portraiture. Also, I tried the Orton effect on a couple of these.... not sure if it looks to hokie.

Oh... and what a hard time I had metering properly due to her blouse. The material had a sheen so it was extremely reflective. Had a bear of a time trying to dialing in the right exposure and get the fill correct on my speedlight. I really love #7 but the blouse is blown out a bit even after all my effort to get the highlights within range.

Thank you for looking and am looking forward to hearing what you think.

698899865_omDks-XL.jpg

698899145_Wdgft-XL.jpg

698955361_i75ig-XL.jpg

698907362_KntG4-XL.jpg

698956510_hfXUc-XL.jpg

698909332_Uskdg-XL.jpg

698910641_UaguU-L.jpg

698917316_brxA6-XL.jpg

698911978_2aFEn-XL.jpg
"I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site

Comments

• ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
    edited November 1, 2009
    I prefer #2, #5, #6, #10 simply because she seems most relaxed/natural in them. I'm not too crazy about the angle in #1. #2 very nice! #3 is nice, but the shadows are a bit distracting. #5 and #6 are a bit blown here and there, but it doesn't bother me really. She seems to be relaxed. She seems uncomfortable in #7, whether it is the pose, or the light in her eyes? #8 I would have liked a bit brighter, but is nice.
  • kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator
    edited November 1, 2009