Options

Need some help with hockey settings

KristaKrista Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited November 21, 2009 in Sports
I am fairly new to the didgital camera thing - so be gentle with me!

I have been taking pictures at hockey games, and have encountered some issues with the pictures.

- noticeable blur in the pictures

- the pictures are quite dark - I generally have to edit them to lighten them up

I'm sure there are a few more issues but these are the most pressing ones.

I have a Nikon D60 along with 2 lenses -- Nikkor 18-105, and a Tamron 70-300, as well as a monopod that I have just begun using.

I know very little about the actual settings on the camera and for the most part have been using the sports setting, along with the auto-focus.

Can anyone tell me what might be a good setting to try out?

Comments

• Options
    john ljohn l Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited November 3, 2009
    Hi Krista. Take a look at the sports threads and you will find all kinds of info re hockey pictures. There are some very good sport shooters on this site. You will note that most are shooting with an iso of 1600 or greater and are using lens that have an f2.8 capability. Lots of luck with your shooting. Most rinks are very dark and it is a challenge. John
  • Options
    cmkultradomecmkultradome Registered Users Posts: 516 Major grins
    edited November 3, 2009
    Krista-