are these snap shots or more?

JwarJwar Registered Users Posts: 112 Major grins
edited November 6, 2009 in People
I got some pics of our 5 month old Max.
How's my sharpness and PP? Please any critique would be helpful!

1.696987647_grLMJ-M.jpg

2.696985299_8CwWv-M.jpg

3.696984499_Tijth-M.jpg

4.696984247_bguxM-M.jpg

5.696987253_5mGup-M.jpg

thanks!
Jay

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.
Kinky Friedman

Comments

• kidzmomkidzmom Registered Users Posts: 828 Major grins
    edited November 5, 2009
    Definately moving out of the snapshot zone to the "more" zone! :) You have a cute little boy there!

Okay, my "critique". I'm only a newbie myself so feel free to ignore me. I've been taking pictures (LOTS of them for over a decade) but I just got my first dSLR 3 months ago (I had a film SLR Nikon back "in the day").

#1 My personal fav. This is your "keeper" and "framer" shot of the bunch. I love your composition, his eyes have nice catchlight. Lots of good natural light. The oof adoring Mom behind is very special. A great shot!!! thumb.gif

#2 Good catch light and clear focus on the one eye, but poor framing. I've been reamed about this from many experienced photogs....Don't cut chins or cheeks. The consensus seems to be that a crop off the forehead is FINE, but that is about all that is acceptable.

#3 your burned edges take away from the focus of this shot. It ends up focusing the attention just on his back.

#4 is really cute, but a teensy bit soft and lacks some Pop. If you adjust your Levels this might help a lot! I like this shot.

#5 is cute but he is directly in the sun and this distorts the skin tone and makes his face look harsh. If you could find some nice soft light like in #1.

You are on your way to great photos. Please take these comments with a grain of salt. I'm also new and I'm also ULTRA critical of my own pictures. Just wanting you to make the improvments towards stellar photos as well. Hopefully some profs can chime in :)