700345130_uo9q6-L-1.jpg

700339606_TKTMw-L-1.jpg

700343877_pAAHT-L-1.jpg

700354554_xYhUJ-L-1.jpg

Comments

• paddler4paddler4 Registered Users Posts: 976 Major grins
    edited November 6, 2009
    Some gorgeous colors. Gaillardia?

I am still a struggling newbie, but I can offer two suggestions. One is actually from Scott Kelby, who suggests that it is usually a good idea not to photograph flowers from the same perspective that people usually see them. If you use the common perspective, there is a greater chance the images will look like snapshots. I think it is usually, but not always, good advice. In some of yours (#2) you were following that advice. In some others (#1), you weren't.

The second issue is that you are confronting one of the banes of macro: shallow depth of field. In several of your images, that detracts from the overall impact. There are not a lot of options. One step is to keep the part you want in focus as close as possible to a plane parallel to the sensor. It's not always feasible, which is why fat spiders are particularly tough, unless you photograph them from their undersides. A second option is focus stacking, which people here use to spectacular effect but which I have not mastered yet. The final option (I am ducking before the tomatoes fly) is to close the lens down. I don't know your lens at all, but the Canon macro lens I use shows remarkably little softening from diffusion up to f/20 or 22. I try not to go that high, but when the choice is a little softening vs. a big DOF problem, I opt for the former. Also, if you are using natural light with handheld shots, shutting the lens down often means using a higher ISO, with more noise.
  • GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderators Posts: 4,747 moderator
    edited November 6, 2009
    REALLY LIKE #2,7 & 10.