zoom vs. prime for portarits and strobing

OzzwaldOzzwald Registered Users Posts: 110 Major grins
edited November 9, 2009 in Cameras
So discovered this site just roaming the internet for photography answers...which in turn created more questions(in a good way). found so many techniques, tips and interesting photos. So i usually gravitate towards portraits and people. so I've been roaming the people thread and started seeing external flash and strobist techniques.

So my question is about lens selection. Im looking for a good portrait lens for strobing and some in studio use. Currently i have a D80 with a Tamron 17-50mm. I'm looking at tamron 28-75 and a nikon 85mm. I have never used a prime lens before, but not really comfortable moving to get in position.

So i was just wondering during portrait shots in studio or strobist shots, do you find yourself zooming in and out a lot or do you usually stay at one zoom length? which one do your prefer? How far away do you usually have to be when using an external flash?

Comments

• NikonsandVstromsNikonsandVstroms Registered Users Posts: 990 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2009
    Ozzwald wrote:
    So discovered this site just roaming the internet for photography answers...which in turn created more questions(in a good way). found so many techniques, tips and interesting photos. So i usually gravitate towards portraits and people. so I've been roaming the people thread and started seeing external flash and strobist techniques.

So my question is about lens selection. Im looking for a good portrait lens for strobing and some in studio use. Currently i have a D80 with a Tamron 17-50mm. I'm looking at tamron 28-75 and a nikon 85mm. I have never used a prime lens before, but not really comfortable moving to get in position.