Options

Newbie question about resolution

RosyRosy Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited November 17, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi all! I'm just beginning to dabble in the business side of things and came to realize that shooting with a Rebel, 300dpi will only produce an 8x10", and that's with little cropping.

Can you get good print results at a lower resolution? If so, where do you go? I have an account with a digital lab and it looks like they want everything at 300dpi.

Unfortunately, I already have paying clients scheduled...and I'm imagining they're going to want something bigger than an 8x10". What do I do? I'd love to just upgrade to a 7D--that would solve all my problems, right?? ;)

Comments

• Options
    crazy7photographycrazy7photography Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
    edited November 10, 2009
    Right
    Canon 5D Mark II, 7D, 70-200mm IS 2.8, 28-70mm 2.8, 15mm Fish eye. etc...
    Alien Bees Strobes

Crazy Seven Photography
    www.crazysevenphotography.com
  • Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited November 10, 2009
    Right
    :D

What matters more than your pixel count is the quality of the sensor, the quality of your lens, your post-processing of the image. You have enough pixels to make the prints you want to. I have 24x36 prints from 8MP to prove that.
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • Options
    colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited November 10, 2009