Posting children's pictures on the internet

metmet Registered Users Posts: 405 Major grins
edited November 27, 2009 in People
I'm not sure if this is the place for this thread, but I've been thinking about this. I put pictures of kids that I photograph and my nieces and nephews up on my smugmug in public galleries. I don't make them private/pword protected (unless specifically asked - which no one has) so that I can share them on dgrin for C&C, because I have a lot of friends and family that regularly check my site for new pictures and trying to give them a password every time would be annoying, people want to link to their Facebook, etc. I'm not a pro, I just like to share my pics with friends and family. I don't have any nekkie pics of them up, but there are some of them playing in the water in their swimsuits. I'm just trying to figure out if I should be more cautious in this regard. Obviously I don't put their last names, etc up but there are all kinds of pervs out there.

What do you guys think? What is your policy in regard to posting pictures of children?

Comments

• ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2009
    I just wanted to point out that I believe you can still share pics here, even from a locked gallery...as long as you have "External links" set to "yes" in your gallery settings.

There are a lot of different thoughts on this, and to be honest, I'm not completely clear in my own mind where I stand. I was just reading an article about this, this morning. It's something important to consider, for sure.

PS - I know some people have kind of divided their Smug sites into private and non-private, by putting all private/family galleries behind a particular category, and to enter it you need a password. So, you could give family and friends one password so they could access your entire site. You'd have to decide which pics belonged where.
    Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!