Fuji Finepix S5200

bsclark_1bsclark_1 Registered Users Posts: 34 Big grins
edited November 17, 2009 in Cameras
Hey gang,

I'm a total Newb here. I have been sort of a photobug for several years, and would like to get into it a little more. I would even like to potentially get published in some local magazines and such as well as maybe do some senior/family pictures.

My camera is a Fuji Finepix S5200. It is not a DSLR, but seems to produce good quality shots, and is fully manual if I want it to be. But I have seen a lot of photographers online bashing it.

Since I've seen a ton of awesome work on here, I thought I would ask you guys if you think I can accomplish my goals with this camera, or if I have to wait until I can upgrade. It will be at least a year before I have the funds available for a new camera.

I alsmot hate to ask this to a group of professionals, but hope to hear some good feedback. Also, if and when I do decide to upgrade, can you give me some advice on the best entry level DSLR in the $500 - $600 range?

Thank you!

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited November 17, 2009
    Bsclark_1, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

The FujiFilm Finepix S5200 is a fine little digicam with a rather nice zoom lens. It is about 4 years old which is about 2 generations or so in digital Camera terms.

Depending on what you want to do, it can be quite capable. I suggest that if you cannot purchase a new camera for another year, you might as well wait until you can purchase a camera and then ask at that time. The digital selection will be no doubt different a year from now.

As far as dSLRs currently available in the $500-$600USD range, that will purchase an entry level camera and lens, but not much more. I suggest that you may be better served to also look at the digicams that are available at that time.