Any professional Grannies and Grandpa's in here????

ApertureGrannyApertureGranny Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited November 19, 2009 in People
OK... In short: I am a childrens photographer, and I recently became a grandma. I was over the moon with the baby, so is everyone in my family, but one big problem.
My DIL hates my guts, with a passion. (No need to tell more, this is the essence, that she hates my guts)
I went to hospital to welcome the new baby, with my camera of course...
And got kicked out of hospital BY A SCREAMING DIL because she did not want me to take pics of the baby...
Now I know all about hormones and such, and protective moms, but this is all besides the essence again... All women have hormones raging after birth, but that is not the same as yelling against people you don't like. There is something called polite and civilized...

The point is that they want me to be "grandmother" instead of "photographer". (As if you can split the two...)
I am very respectful, snapping babies and family portraits is my big thing in life, so of course I was completely shell shocked when they threw me out because I was snapping the newborn...

I am not a pedofile, I am a normal mother, grandmother (well, trying to) and I live abroad. I had to travel a day to get to hospital, and I normally only go home to my kids twice a year, for a couple of days.

My question is if other grandparent photographers have encountered something similar, and how can I cope with it. I had my brother intervene on my behalf, to talk to my son and trying to find out what I did wrong, not the essence really, as all I did wrong as assuming they were going to be happy with nice photographs of their baby. Again, I am respectful, no flashes, ambient light, as I do with all my baby and kiddie shoots.