Christmas Portrait C&C Needed

goldenstarphotogoldenstarphoto Registered Users Posts: 252 Major grins
edited November 25, 2009 in People
]Hi there, I normally only shoot sports, events and pets outside utilizing natural light. This is my first attempt at inside portrait work. I did this for free for a client who has purchased a lot of event photos from me in the past. C&C desperately needed and appreciated!!! Don't worry about being to harsh, it's the only way to improve.

721026677_48YVY-L.jpg

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited November 23, 2009
    Here's what I see (in no particular order):
    • thumb.gif - nice colors. The reds and greens compliment each other very nicely and you didn't (it appears) blow out the red channel, or at least not by much and that's sometimes very hard to control.
    • :cry - Background has wrinkles
    • :cry - on-camera flash is causing some strange shadows under their arms
    • :cry - the pose is a bit statict and the two goldens are hardly a part of the image. To improve consider bringing the goldens in more towards the center and getting a bit of a difference in the height of the two people's heads. Maybe put him on one knee on the floor with an arm around each of the goldens?
    • :cry - the couple's tops are lost in the background. Need to either get some light on them from behind to rim-light (and thus seperate them from the background) or put them in different colored tops.
    • :cry - the dog in her lap is lost in her dress.
    • :cry - Framing .... you cut off their feet. Their heads are just a bit too close to being centered. You didn't leave any room for cropping/framing.
    • :cry - the dog on the left, bacause of the lighting, appears to be photoshopped into the photo.