Options

Another Raw Workflow Question

ChrisGardnerChrisGardner Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited November 25, 2009 in Finishing School
I've been shooting raw and converting with Lightroom for about 2 years now, so I have an understanding of raw conversion in general. However, my version of LR is old (version 1, with no local adjustment brush) and I've never been really happy with the results, so I'm looking at some other options. The most obvious would be LR 3 (I have the beta version now), but I was also looking at DxO and CaptureNX 2.

So here is a scenario - I take a hundred shots with different lenses. I point DxO at the files and it does its magical corrections (Or I use CaptureNX 2). I then want to open all those files in LR, add them to a catalog and make more adjustments. What is PHYSICALLY happening to the files? Are they being converted to TIFFs? All software packages have their own way of manipulating raw files, so I don't understand how you could pass raw files in between programs and keep adjustments. I guess the fundamental question is this: Is the FIRST program you use the only one that is actually manipulating the raw file?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited November 23, 2009
    Importing a file - RAW, tiff, jpg - into Lightroom does not change it in any way if I understand the program correctly.