Help me pick a Canon DSLR

CaneelCaneel Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited December 2, 2009 in Cameras
After banging my head against the wall for 3 months, I am admitting I need professional help.

FYI – the closest camera shop is more than an hour from where I live so going to see someone in person isn’t an option.

Here is my situation:
I have been using a Canon Powershot for four years. Can’t remember the exact model (its at home, I am at work) but it is one of the SX1 IS types. I enjoyed it, like the Canon product but it is time to upgrade.

I want a Canon DSLR but can’t decide which model. I have read and re-read the product descriptions as well as on-line reviews and comparisons. I was guided to this site by a travel forum acquaintance.

My needs and desires:

Speed – We have a young child. By the time my current Powershot gears up, focuses, and captures the shot, he is on to the next adorable thing and I miss it.

Fun and experimentation – I like to shot any interesting thing that I come across. Do a lot of shooting on vacation. We spend a lot of time outdoors and I like taking pictures of scenery and wild animals. Some stuff turns out pretty good and I am interested in building on it as a hobby.

I do have a need to take pictures of buildings for work so would like to add on a wide angle for that task.

To date, I haven’t done anything to enhance/edit my pictures aside from removing red eyes.

At first I was totally set on a Rebel (edited) T1i based totally on the recommendation from a friend.

Then as I started researching, the EOS Rebel XSi started looking good.

I can’t decide between the two. Based on what I told you, what is your opinion?

The price difference between the two kits is about $135. Not a small sum but if the XTi is a better choice for me, I am ok with the price difference. The lenses appear to be the same.