Options

software help needed - which one?

SweetScenePhotoSweetScenePhoto Registered Users Posts: 41 Big grins
edited December 2, 2009 in Finishing School
Hi all. I am a very newbie (is there anything newer than a freshman?)
Anyway, I currently own Paint Shop Pro 6 and can use it to add brush strokes, B&W with selective coloring, adding lettering, etc.

But, it doesn't do all the cool things that I've seen photographers do with Adobe Photoshop. I've never been to art school or taken any digital software classes. I'm learning on my own.

Do I need to have Photoshop to use the Elements? My budget is very limited - I haven't really made much profit from my portrait business - but then, again, I've just started (under a month - being pro).

All suggestions and comments are appreciated. I feel so juvenile on this site, but I do read a lot here and have learned so much! Thank you!
Jasa Wolfrey
www.sweetscenephotography.com
Gear: Canon 7D & Rebel XSi
Lenses: 18-55mm, EF 50mm F/1.8 II, 75-200mm, 28-135mm, 75-300mm
Extras: Sigma EF-530 DG Super Flash, Gary Fong (white)
Paint Shop Pro 6, Adobe Photoshop Elements 8, Adobe Lightroom 2

Comments

• Options
    cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited November 25, 2009
    OK, Photoshop and Photoshop Elements are different products. Elements is some basic functions of Photoshop. Photoshop is the full monster.

Do you need Photoshop? No. There are plenty of alternatives out there from free (GIMP) to expensive. Corel Paint Shop Pro, Pixelmator, Paint.Net, Picasa, etc.

Don't forget Photoshop Lightroom, which is not a replacement for Photoshop, but can serve as really all you need for most things.

Photoshop's power is in the ability to manage many layers, and manage, at a very fine degree, editing, composting and image manipulation. If you need to remove a distracting object in an image, or replace a background, Photoshop is your tool.