Beginner - My attempt of the Sydney Harbour Bridge

LuxD-147LuxD-147 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited November 29, 2009 in Landscapes
Hi all,
This is my first post.

I am very new to DSLR Photography but i am very keen to learn.

726294761_MrFFv-XL.jpg
10469418_c2JjiThis picture was taken around 11.50 pm.
I didn't have a tripod and it was so windy. This was the best out of 10 other photos that i have taken on that night.

Can you please be kind enough to tell me what you think about this photo?
How can i improve?

Can you please also suggest a lens for <600 AUD
I am interested in taking Landscape photos like this.

Many thanks

Photo Stats
Canon EOS 1000D
Lens: EF-S18-55MM f/3.5-5.6
1.0 sec at f/3.5
ISO: 200

[FONT=&quot]<o:p></o:p>[/FONT]

Comments

• Nikonic1Nikonic1 Registered Users Posts: 684 Major grins
    edited November 28, 2009
    There is really no way to take a 1 second exposure with no tripod and have it look good. That should be your first purchase if you would like to continue with pictures after dark.

It's hard to give constructive criticism on a photo that is so technically flawed. Do you have others that you've taken so far?

My best suggestion is to read a lot here. There is a WEALTH of information. It would also help to read into some beginner tips for photography in general. This will give you a baseline and some groundwork to start building your knowledge on. Happy shooting thumb.gif
  • LuxD-147LuxD-147 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
    edited November 28, 2009
    Nikonic1 wrote:
    There is really no way to take a 1 second exposure with no tripod and have it look good. That should be your first purchase if you would like to continue with pictures after dark.

It's hard to give constructive criticism on a photo that is so technically flawed. Do you have others that you've taken so far?