Options

powershot dead, what to buy now?

cowcow Registered Users Posts: 6 Big grins
edited July 21, 2005 in Cameras
this is my first post on these forums, so hopefully it's a good one... you all seem like a nice bunch. :)

i've had a canon powershot g1 for the past three years or so and it has served me very well. i'm a fair photographer (just recently started reading up on the important stuff like iso settings and f/stop) and i've found that this camera can pretty much do everything i need. tonight i was taking some pictures of the kids and i was seeing the low battery warning. suddenly, the camera powered down as it normally does with low power, but this time it totally died. the lens didn't even retract. i tried everything i could think of but have yet to see any sign of life in it. doing some googling, i found that this is a common problem with this camera and that it is most likely a dc/dc converter malfunction. repair is assumed to be around $150US since the warranty is long expired.

my father is the gadget freak, and has to buy every new fangled thing that comes out. he bought a g5 when it first hit the market, and bought my mom a g6 for her birthday when it was brand new too. i've had some experience with both of these, and they seem to improve with each new version. one thing that i found vastly superior in the g5/g6 compared to my g1 was the flash. pictures would look very pinkish when using the flash in absense of "real" light (meaning non-artificial light) with my g1.

so, the time has come to buy a new camera. my only experience with digital cameras has been the powershot g series, but i was wanting to get away from it for a while. i am really interested in the canon rebel xt, alas, i cannot afford such a beast at this time. my price range is around $200-300. what's good out there?