Options

Yet ANOTHER Pricing Question

DionysusDionysus Registered Users Posts: 226 Major grins
edited December 30, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
I've looked through pages and pages and I've seen numerous pricing threads, but I guess none with all the info I need in it (could be waaay down the line in pages, but I'm on lunch, and don't have all day to look)...so I have to take the easy route and just ask a new question.

Anyway, I'm getting to the point where people are asking me to do portraits for them. I started out doing close friends/family for free, and instead of charging used their word of mouth to get people to come to me. Well, now they are coming to me, and I have no idea how to price things.

I'm not a lifelong professional, so I wouldnt feel comfortable charging full pro prices. On top of it all, I live in upstate new york...it's hard enough to get people to pay for photos, and the average person doesn't earn that much. But hey, I want to buy new equipment LOL.

My main concerns are:

1. Sitting Fee...How much would be reasonable for the average family or solo portrait shoot? How much time is usually covered under the typical siting fee.

2. I've toyed with the idea of the two tiers: a bigger sitting fee, for people who just want the cd to print on their own, and a 'regular' fee which will include all their processed photos for them to purchase on my website. Is this reasonable?

3. If I just go with one way of charging a flat sitting fee, and posting photos on my website...how much should I charge for a cd with all the photos on it, if they want it IN ADDITION to the option to print photos from my gallery.

4. For people who want to hire me to do an event (race, sports, concert, etc)...what would be a reasonable hourly rate, keeping all the issues in mind from above.

Sorry for the long post...hoping to get this squared away so I can proceed with business.
-=Ren B.=-