outdoor exposure tip needed

VayCayMomVayCayMom Registered Users Posts: 1,870 Major grins
edited December 12, 2009 in Technique
I am still a newbie of sorts. I have a meter but have not learned how to use it yet.

I need just a simple tip or two about outdoor shots, when the subject is in shade but facing sun, with and without fill, how to avoid blowing out the sunlit background.
Thanks in advance!!
Trudy
www.CottageInk.smugmug.com

NIKON D700

Comments

• BlackwoodBlackwood Registered Users Posts: 313 Major grins
    edited December 7, 2009
    Expose for the background and flash the subject.
  • NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited December 7, 2009
    According to your description, it would not be possible to take a decent pictures of your subject without a fill light - unless you're talking silhouette...
    So it looks like fill or bust.
    BTW, plain ETTL is supposed to be very good for this type of scenario, you may not even need a lightmeter...
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited December 7, 2009
    VayCayMom wrote:
    I am still a newbie of sorts. I have a meter but have not learned how to use it yet.

I need just a simple tip or two about outdoor shots, when the subject is in shade but facing sun, with and without fill, how to avoid blowing out the sunlit background.
    Thanks in advance!!

I am not sure I understand how the subject is in the shade but still facing the sun??? Do you mean they are facing away from the sun perhaps?

Trudy, you need to fill out your profile so posters can be aware of your camera and equipment. Beware, I shoot white lenses, so if you need to translate......

Regardless,