F8 or 11, should I be going higher?
Any tips would be appreciated...
Some of my landscapes can be seen here:

http://jenniferann.smugmug.com/Landscapes

Thanks!

Comments

• rontront Registered Users Posts: 1,473 Major grins
    edited December 8, 2009
    I am still pretty new at all of this but I think your Av settings are good. Are you using a good tripod? That alone can make a world of difference. Also, knowing what equipment you are using would be good to know also for help.
    I looked at some of your photos on your smugmug site. I think you have some very nice photos there!

Ron
    "The question is not what you look at, but what you see". Henry David Thoreau

http://ront.smugmug.com/
    Nikon D600, Nikon 85 f/1.8G, Nikon 24-120mm f/4, Nikon 70-300, Nikon SB-700, Canon S95
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited December 8, 2009
    The trick is, at least for me, to find the SWEET SPOT (Aperture) that my lens is best at...aperture wise...my landscpe camera is a Konica Minolta A2 - prosumer p/s with a 28-200 lens....its smalles aperture is f11 but normally I am at f8 with it.....when I do use my D300 it is again around f8-f11 and I have configured my camera to only allow for standard apertures and shutter speeds....just like film cameras had.........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• anwmn1anwmn1 Registered Users Posts: 3,469 Major grins
    edited December 8, 2009
    I am not on a real good monitor right now but I looked at your link and many of your photos are quite good.

Your settings look correct shooting between F8 and F18 for wide angle scenes. For sharpness it could depend on your focus point and how good of a tripod you have.

There is also quite a bit of post process work in the great work you see on here.

Just keep shooting, reading, and sharing your work. deal.gif