XS Exposure on Manual Setting.

dabeersboysdabeersboys Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited December 10, 2009 in Technique
Hi All!
I'm new to photography and to the forum, but not new to forums, so I did search around for this, so any help would be appriciated.

I bought my XS in October- and I want to say my manual setting for the first day or so worked fine.

Now in manual setting on the XS you can control your Aperture and your shutter speed but not your Exposure Level.

The instruction manual says- when you change your shutter speed and aperture, the exposure level will change so you can pick your exposure level.

I have done all of this and my exposre level moves up then back down to -2 every time. even a picture of the sun looks dark.

Any suggestios?

Thanks.
Matt

Comments

• PhotosbyKWPhotosbyKW Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
    edited December 10, 2009
    Matt, I'm not sure that I understand your situation, but I'll attempt to start a solution...

The actual exposure is the ammount of light hitting a medium (film/sensor) for a coorisponding length of time. With that in mind, an average exposure on a cloudy day might be ISO 200 1/60th sec. at f8. That exact ammount of light might also be achieved at 1/125th sec. at f5.6, or ISO 400 1/30th sec. at f16, etc.

A photo of something bright like the sun (bad idea, for sensor life, btw) can still look dark, if the exposure settings are set to only allow a limited amount of light to get in.
    Consistantly Inconsistant.

www.PhotosbyKW.smugmug.com
  • PhotosbyKWPhotosbyKW Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
    edited December 10, 2009
    Let me try this another way. I have not used your camera, BTW- but most work in similar fashion.