What should I add to my collection?

WoogiekidsWoogiekids Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
edited December 11, 2009 in Cameras
I would like some advice from the experts. I have about $1K to spend on a lens. I currently have the following:

Canon 75-300mm
Canon 28-135mm
Tamron 90mm-2.8

Camera body is a Canon 50D.

If it was you, what would you get? I'm thinking maybe a better telephoto? I'm just an amateur hobbiest, so advice would be great!

Comments

• aj986saj986s Registered Users Posts: 1,100 Major grins
    edited December 11, 2009
    The Canon 10-22 is an amazing lens. I use it a lot for indoor situations, but also great for panoramic style shots outdoors.

Also, I'm not so fond of 75-300 kit lens. It works, but has limitations in terms of sharpenss and color. A nice walk-about lens we have (bought for my wife's 30D so she didn't have to change lenses while on vacation last summer) is Canon's 18-200. Very versatile. Great picture quality, except for some corner vignetting at 10MM with the UV filter on (though easily corrected in Lightroom). Also reading good reviews lately of Tamron's 18-270.
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited December 11, 2009
    Woogiekids wrote:
    I would like some advice from the experts. I have about $1K to spend on a lens. I currently have the following:

Canon 75-300mm
    Canon 28-135mm
    Tamron 90mm-2.8

If it was you, what would you get? I'm thinking maybe a better telephoto? I'm just an amateur hobbiest, so advice would be great!

Alissa, what is it "you" feel is most lacking? You mentioned a better telephoto, but do you mean telephoto zoom? If so, why do you say that?