Very Tight Shots in Black and White

EiaEia Registered Users Posts: 3,627 Major grins
edited December 14, 2009 in People
I was asked by a friend to take a few photos of another friend's children. The request was for a very tight shot and converted to black and white. I like the tight crop for what it will be used for - - but - - is the b & w conversion suitable? And boy....were they wiggle worms - quite difficult! :D
739082599_tpP2o-M.jpg

739083023_MmCR3-M.jpg

739084139_3GUbp-L.jpg

739084646_7UuZo-M.jpg

739085057_rLXk6-M.jpg

Comments

• woytekwoytek Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
    edited December 12, 2009
    Eia wrote:
    I was asked by a friend to take a few photos of another friend's children. The request was for a very tight shot and converted to black and white. I like the tight crop for what it will be used for - - but - - is the b & w conversion suitable? And boy....were they wiggle worms - quite difficult! :D

I'm a relative newbie on these forums, and I used to shoot and print a lot of B&W film, so take these comments as you see fit.

I like several of these, but I have minor issues with a couple. Specifically, 1, 2, and 4 all seem to work pretty well. The conversion worked well, the contrast is good, lighting is pretty good (looks like maybe a speedlight on the camera--please correct me if I guessed incorrectly). #2 may have been improved somewhat with a different lighting position. You might want to check the crop on that one, too, as the hard shadow on the arm/leg/whatever in the bottom left area is a little distracting to me. I like the concept of #2, though.

I think that #3 is a little too flat and grey. If I was printing this from film, I might toss in a somewhat higher polycontrast filter and decrease my exposure time a little bit. Maybe a contrast bump and a bit of tonal modification might improve this.