Santa Pictures!

jdorseydesignjdorseydesign Registered Users Posts: 161 Major grins
edited December 14, 2009 in People
Recently a friend of mine who runs an Edward Jones office asked me if I would come take pictures of some of his client's and their kids along with Santa Claus for Christmas. I thought it would be a good way to get some free advertising, since I'm just starting out. I think the photos turned out pretty well, although the experience taught me a few things.

1). Relying on optical slave flashes is not reliable. I can't afford pocket wizards yet, but I'm definitely going to invest in some more gadget infinity radio triggers soon.

2). Dogs + leashes + light stands = broken radio trigger. My only flash trigger snapped when the light stand took a tumble (umbrella and all).

3). Duct tape. You should always carry duct tape. I was able to repair the radio trigger enough to get through the shoot. Otherwise I would have had to rely on bounce flash or my 35mm f/1.8.

Anyway, here's some of the results, I hope the clients end up liking them.

739395649_8XcqS-L-1.jpg

739392266_qdGEm-L-1.jpg

739398933_Hi3r6-L-1.jpg

739332260_WAbZM-L-1.jpg

739401743_mgQwe-L-1.jpg

PS. Best Santa and Mrs. Claus Ever.
J Dorsey Design Photography • jdorseydesign.com • Facebook Fan/Friend • Twitter @bartdorsey

Comments

• l.k.madisonl.k.madison Registered Users Posts: 542 Major grins
    edited December 13, 2009
    739401743_mgQwe-L-1.jpg

PS. Best Santa and Mrs. Claus Ever.

That is just beautiful!!!

I love that they're non-traditional, not the "sit on Santa's lap and click" pictures that you get at the mall. So super sweet.

I think Santa and Mrs. Claus need that one of them blown up to hang up in their house during the holidays as a thank-you, don't you? clap.gif
  • dmmattixdmmattix Registered Users Posts: 341 Major grins
    edited December 13, 2009
    That is just beautiful!!!