Settings for Presentation Shots

canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
edited December 18, 2009 in Technique
Tonight I have been asked to take some shots of a presentation where a cheque will be handed over to a childrens ward at the hospital. I have never done anything like this before and I am terrified they don't turn out well. I will be using 40D and 17-55 with 580 flash. What would be the best settings and any other advice regarding composition would be greatly appreciated.
Regards
Bob

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited December 15, 2009
    What I would do (in order of priority) is:
    • Manual Mode, ISO 200 (maybe 400), f/3.5 (ish). If the lighting is flourscent, shutter speed in USA would be about 1/60. I don't know the frequency of electricity in Scotland, but if it's 50Hz, then you need a shutter speed of 1/50s (or a multiple of that, 1/25, 1/100, etc).

• Flash mounted on camera. If you intend to shoot with camera in portrait orientation, a flash bracket would be a good idea. Point that flash at the ceiling, attaching a white card to the back of the flash using an elastic band - this will throw some fill light forward to open up shadows on faces, etc.

• Gel the flash to match the color of the ambient light. If lights in the hospital are flourscent, something like
      • Rosco #3304
      • Rosco #3315 or
      • Rosco #3316

If they are tungsten, then you are looking at something like
      • Rosco #3407- Full CTO (Converts 6500K to 3200K)
      • Rosco #3411- 3/4 CTO (Converts 5500K to 3200K)
      • Rosco #3408- 1/2 CTO (Converts 5500K to 3800K)
      • Rosco #3409- 1/4 CTO (Converts 5500K to 4500K)

The density of the gel will be determined by how green/orange the lighting is compared to that of the flash.
  • canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
    edited December 15, 2009
    What I would do (in order of priority) is: