Baptism Photos

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited December 17, 2009 in People
My wife and I went up to the Bay Area this past weekend for my nephew's baptism. She asked that I take a few photos to document the event. I was a bit nervous since I am kind of new to this type of shooting and using strobes. I didn't know what to expect as far as lighting in the church or good vantage points. As I kind of expected, lighting wasn't great but I cranked up the ISO a bit, set to manual and used my trusty little SB-600 speedlight for light. I shot most wide open at f/2.8.

I'm pretty happy with the results. I wasn't to thrilled with the only spot I could find to get a clear shot of the actual baptism; there was a large nativity scene right next to where everything was happening. I had to do a little bit of cloning on some. I haven't showed my sister-in-law the pictures yet because I wanted to get some feedback from you all. Mostly the WB and skin tones. I am having trouble with my monitors at home, I think they're off a bit so I tried my best to get the skin tones right. The venue was a bit "warm" as far as ambient so I tried to keep some of that warmth in the pictures. Hopefully it's not overboard though.

BTW, I processed these with the sort of "dreamy" look. I noticed all of the professionally done photos my sister-in-law has had done has this type of post work so I kind of did the same since apparently she likes it. Feedback on this would also be appreciated as far as my execution of it.

Well, nuff talk...

#1 - My sister-in-law and Marcus just before we left for the church
742110821_LL2i2-XL.jpg

#2 - Marcus and proud papa at home (shot with just window light)
742110015_Egp38-XL.jpg

#3 - Marcus being blessed
742301614_hs7eg-XL.jpg

#4 - Mom is blessed by the congregation
742116571_7DXZU-L.jpg

#5 - The Christening
742302067_jrRkY-L.jpg

#6 - Celebration
742115837_pqvdx-XL.jpg