SuperWides...

M38A1M38A1 Registered Users Posts: 1,317 Major grins
edited January 21, 2010 in Cameras
In another quandry again..... Superwides.

Thoughts/opinions on the following?

Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 ($479)
Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 ($599)
Nikon 10-24 f/3.5 ($789)

Part of my decision making usually involves a search on Flickr and see what pops up in the search slideshow. Based on that unscientific approach, I tend to like the shots presented from the Sigma and Nikon.

I'm using a Nikon D90 body and don't have a specific need/use other than they look fun.

Comment appreciated!

Comments

• Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited December 19, 2009
    My choice would be the Sigma or the Nikon......I have been using Sigmas for over 25+ years and well Nikon just makes good glass forthose that can't handle a 2nd party manufacturer:D:D:D
    no idea about tokina or tamron.................
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• CoryUTCoryUT Registered Users Posts: 367 Major grins
    edited December 19, 2009
    I've been trying to decide this for myself (and posted http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=153498 a few days ago). For me, I think I've decided on the Sigma. Based on many reviews, comments, and pictures - it looks like the best price for performance choice, and has a lot of happy owners.
    Daily Shot
    My Photographic Adventures

Nikon D7000 | 10-20 | 50 | 55-200
  • catspawcatspaw Registered Users Posts: 1,292 Major grins
    edited December 19, 2009
    The Sigma is a GREAT lens and holds up very well -- good resale on it if you don't like it, as there are always others looking for one :) I MISS mine, but going FF I decided to give it up.
    //Leah
  • QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited December 19, 2009