Options

Advertising Ideas, Please Give your Honest Opinions.

98olds98olds Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
edited December 30, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi, As some of you already know I am just starting out in doing photography as a side job.

I advertise on my website, and with business cards, but I am thinking about printing up flyers to advertise my photography.

I'm thinking about using an 8.5"x11" flyer with my information on it and stuff and then using a mail merge and send it out to a bunch of people.

Have any of you found this successful?
Any suggestions on this idea?

My second Idea was to take a 4x6 photo and create postcard type advertisements, such as people do their christmas cards, with photos on them, and my information. Then mailing those out.

Has anyone done this before?
and Does anyone have any suggestions at all?

I am open to any suggestions, or ideas you have to advertise my photography.

Thanks in advance to anyone that responds to this post.
Nikon D3000
Nikkor 18-55mm Kit Lens
Nikkor 55-200mm VR Lens
Nikkor 18-105mm VR Lens
Nikkor 70-300mm VR Lens

Nikon SB-600 speedlight

Nikon EM Film SLR
50mm Lens

85mm Lens

Canon Powershot SX100IS

Comments

• Options
    divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2009
    ^^^^ That's general good marketing advice! Your database and voucher ideas are particularly interesting and effective, IMO - I love that the vouchers generate contacts as well as forging relationships between local businesses. I love the community approach. thumb.gif

OP, Glort is right that you should probably do a bit of boning up on basic marketing at this point. Hit the library, but marketing/advertising basics are usually:

- figure out what your "unique selling point" is
    - figure out what market(s) will likely be interested in that USP
    - target that market with your advertising