Laptop for $2000

amg2833amg2833 Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
edited January 13, 2010 in Digital Darkroom
I plan on purchasing a 40/50D within 6 months, and need the best possible laptop I can get for $2000 to process my images. I'll probably be running Lightroom and CS4.

I also need to run a program called Revit as I'm an engineering student. I don't know if anyone knows, but I've linked the system requirements here

The cheaper the better, but I'd rather not skimp on quality as much as possible. I'm not against Mac, but since my budget isn't huge I don't know if that's much of a possibility. In addition, Revit is Windows-only.

Light weight is also a plus.

What suggestions do y'all have
ANTHONY :thumb
[AMG]photos

[Yashica Lynx 14E | Canon 30D | Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 | 540ez | Cactus V4s]

Comments

• NewsyNewsy Registered Users Posts: 605 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2009
    amg2833 wrote:
    I plan on purchasing a 40/50D within 6 months, and need the best possible laptop I can get for $2000 to process my images. I'll probably be running Lightroom and CS4.

The first thing you need to know is that all commercial retail laptops currently in production use 6bit "TN" panels. These are no where close to the quality of screens you can obtain in an external monitor. But if you're just starting out and aren't making a living from it, you should be fine for a year or so. You can always add a good external monitor later.

Possibly the best screen i have seen on a recent laptop is on the Mac Book Pro 17" which uses a "TN+" panel. Now, I have not seen this in person, only photos, but the difference between it and and older generation MBP were quite visible. Blacker blacks. This could be due a glossy screen hence the need to see in person.

Second, the color calibration of notebooks screens are simply terrible. You'll need a hardware calibrator to really sort it out.